In 1935, Dan Brock and Frank McVey founded the company known as Brock McVey as a plumbing supply house. The business opened in a location on East Vine and Schreve, but was relocated to larger facility in 1938 further down Vine Street to meet growing customer demands.
Success continued and allowed the addition of branches across the state in the early 1950s. Frankfort and Maysville locations were opened in 1952 and the launch of the refrigeration supply sector came the following year. The continued success of the Lexington branch spurred the move to an even larger location on Midland Avenue in 1956.
Brock McVey was acquired by AY McDonald Manufacturing, headquartered in Dubuque, Iowa, in 1964. The new management team was led by John McDonald III who still serves as the Chairman of the Board today. The new team was focused on growth and continued expansion, which brought the addition of the Fixture Gallery (Lexington showroom) and the Prestonsburg facility in 1971.
Aggressive growth continued into the next decade with the acquisition of Wilson Machinery (1972) and additional branches in Bowling Green (1976) and Corbin (1981).
In 1985, the 168,000 square foot Lexington Distribution Center was built. Located just off New Circle Road, today it serves as the home for the entire Lexington location.
Brock McVey is proud of its history and service to Kentucky for almost eight decades. It remains devoted to the customer service and expertise that fueled success in the past and continues to look for innovative opportunities to serve customers into the future. Come and experience the heritage that is Brock McVey.